Book Meme

Unrelenting Ambiguity tagged me with this meme:

Rules:

1. Pick up the nearest book (of at least 123 pgs.)
2. Open the book to page 123
3. Find the fifth sentence
4. Post the next three sentences
5. Tag five people

As luck would have it, the nearest book to me is Barack Obama’s Dreams From My Father: A Story of Race and Inheritance. This fits nicely with my last post! Sentences six, seven, and eight on page 123 are as follows:

“Barry’s okay, isn’t he? I mean, I hope he doesn’t lose his cool and become one of those freaks you see on the streets around here.”

One evening, while thumbing through The Village Voice, my mother’s eyes lit on an advertisement for a movie, Black Orpheus, that was showing downtown.

The next five victims of this meme are:

~ by Woeful on February 3, 2008.

14 Responses to “Book Meme”

  1. ok, I don’t do memes as a rule but I’m considering this one….

  2. No pressure. This is actually an interesting idea though, like the iPod one I did a while ago.

  3. Like comic books have 123 pages.

    [wow you just slipped that one in on me stealth woe]

  4. You gotta go with the graphic novels instead Max. 😉

  5. In the world of freaky-deaky… I’m reading Dreams from my Father, too (which isn’t so weird given that it is election year), but my bookmark is on page 126. I just read those lines last night!

  6. That is pretty odd JT. Thanks for reading!

  7. Dammit, I knew as soon as I saw this was a meme you’d link to me, but at least it’s simple. I get cracking on it, but it’s the tagging that’s always the hardest. I may bow out of that part.

  8. No worries, VL.

  9. ok I did it!

  10. the three closest books to me have no pages, the six closest books are:
    Twisted Journeys #3 (a choose your path graphic novel); Harlan Ellison’s Dream Corridor v.2 graphic novel; Star Wars Dark Empire graphic novel; The Murder of Abraham Lincoln graphic novel; Linux Solutions; Watches International v. 8. The closest novel is Catch-22, so I will do that on my page now.

  11. Thanks for participating Effing!

  12. I tried to get one of Obama’s books from the library, but they’re all checked out and with long waiting lists. Someday I’ll read one. Thanks for participating, woeful!

  13. […] — I got tagged by Woeful with a book meme. Wow it has been a while since meming frenzy I was feeling all safe and then bam! Stealth […]

  14. […] was a simple book meme; Grab the nearest book, turn to page 123, look up the fifth sentence, and type out the next three […]

Leave a comment