40 Days Of Silence

Early on today as I was working the Reference Desk one of our regulars arrived and immediately handed me a note that read:

Sorry I don’t mean to be rude but I took a vow of silence for 40 days

OVER [i flip the note]

Can I please have the local newspaper Woeful Thanks

I read the note, said “sure,” and handed the guy today’s paper. He smiled and walked away.

This particular guy a homeless veteran, but he isn’t an Irregular. He chooses to be homeless even though he has steady part-time work, and he is consistently polite and respectful of the Library staff and our materials. Although he most certainly leads an unconventional life he is always a decent guy.

Have a Happy Thanksgiving Everyone!

~ by Woeful on November 26, 2009.

7 Responses to “40 Days Of Silence”

  1. Now if only some of your less polite patrons would adopt the same stance.

  2. Did you have enough to eat?

  3. “Now if only some of your less polite patrons would adopt the same stance.” Some? How’s about most…..

  4. hope you had a great thanksgiving

  5. I did indeed, thanks!

  6. I wish some of the staff would make a vow of silence even in written word.

  7. This story reminds me of some I’ve collected. I know a few patrons and staff who would love it if everyone took this vow! 🙂 I can hear them now…”The library should be silent anyway…” Thanks for your blog. If you don’t mind, we will link out to you from our site!

Leave a Reply

 
