The Adventures of Buckaroo Banzai Across the 8th Dimension

banzai

Sadly, many people are unaware of this classic ’80s flick from my youth. For me, it ranks right up there with Remo Williams: The Adventure Begins. But that’s neither here nor there.

What is relevant is that there is this elderly guy who has been coming into the Library regularly lately who reminds me of a character out of ol’ Buckaroo a la John Lithgow. Every time I see the guy I can’t help but think of The Adventures of Buckaroo Banzai Across the 8th Dimension… and I can’t help but laugh!

~ by Woeful on July 30, 2009.

7 Responses to “The Adventures of Buckaroo Banzai Across the 8th Dimension”

  1. LOVE Buckaroo Banzai! Use more honey — find out what she knows! What a strange and wonderful movie.

  2. I was soooo excited when I got my DVD copy a couple of months ago. Drive my fiance bonkers as I kept repeating phrases just seconds before the on-screen characters said them.

    I saw this at a studio sneak preview in the 80s and loved it. I still have all the free swag the studio gave out.

    I remember an interview with Lithgow from years ago where he said Lord John Whorfin was his favorite role to play.

  3. …errrrrrr…. I haven’t seen BB in many years, but I don’t remember liking it that much (saw it many times on HBO), but I did take fashion cues from Perfect Tommy and I had a tie with the exact same pattern as my shirt… as for Remo, I got excited about this a few years ago and then watched it,.. and don’t like it that much any more, but I do believe I can dodge bullets… fyi, I have a really cool BB optical illusion toy that simulates his car driving through a mountain…

  4. Buckaroo for me is more a state of mind, Lithgow was great… LOL! Remo I always loved though, I think that Fred Ward never got enough credit for his work. Another good flick from back in the day is “Commando.” It’s a little known Schwarzenegger film that just happens to be Alyssa Milano’s second film…

  5. shades of “Third Rock”

  6. Is it John Big Bootay (sorry, don’t know how to do the accent in this comment box)? Or my second favorite, John Yaya. “Where are we going?! Planet 10!! When?!! REAL SOON!!!”

  7. *chuckles* So we recently had a DVD drive at my library to expand our collection.

    Three guesses what one of the DVDs donated was.

    (And three guesses which clerk got so sick and tired of parents complaining about the lack of childrens’ entertainment DVDs that she spent about $300 of her own money between WalMart and Amazon.com to expand the collection.)

Leave a Reply

 
