VERY Lost & SELDOM Found

Today a patron told me  that someone left an attache case under one of our sofas. I thanked the guy and brought the leather case to our lost and found bin. When I pulled the bin out I couldn’t help but laugh out loud when I saw the contents:

shoe

A single shoe…

How the hell does someone lose one shoe? I mean, I often wonder how patrons make it home when they lose their keys, but one of their shoes? Seriously, did this person actually make it all the way home and go, “Damn! I knew that my left foot felt kinda airy.” Or, “Shoot, I was wondering why I was walking with a limp?”

I really couldn’t make this shit up.

~ by Woeful on June 24, 2009.

9 Responses to “VERY Lost & SELDOM Found”

  1. I remember the first time I found a briefcase in my library. It had a gun in it and we had to call the police. We found out it belonged to one of our ‘mentally hilarious’ patrons. At the time, I’d been a librarian for all of a month.

  2. Unattended firearms are always fun for the whole family… Thanks for commenting Day!

  3. Why do I feel a cold chill when I hear one of the “mentally hilarious” patrons is carrying a gun around in a briefcase?

  4. You should, I do…

  5. Years ago when I worked as a housemaid on Norfolk Island I cleaned a room where someone had left their false teeth behind…..

    How do you get on a plane without your teeth in?

  6. I can’t help but try to come up with ways that someone can lose a single show.

    1: They only have one real leg and that one came off their prosthetic one, so they never noticed.

    2: They had them in a backpack to change into later/because they changed out of them and one fell out.

    3: They lost it in hopes it’ll be posted to the internet.

    4: It’s not really a shoe, it’s a specialized device from the FBI looking to monitor patrons’ check outs and website visits, since librarians won’t tell the authorities who checked out “Serial Killing For Fun & Profit.”

  7. *sighs* SHOE, not show. Oy vey. Me and my typos.

  8. Drunk.

  9. LOL… Or just crazy. There is a lot of that going around. 😉

Leave a Reply

 
