Things Are Tough All Over

A patron recently informed me that the Library’s Men’s Room ran out of soap, so I made a mental note to tell the custodian about it when I saw him later on in the day. When I mentioned it he shrugged and told me that he’s all out. Then he glazed over and said that the Public Works Department is completely out of money for the current fiscal year, so whatever supplies each City department currently has on hand regarding soap, paper towels, and toilet paper is it until the new fiscal year begins on July 1st. He shook his head and informed me that he has all of nine rolls of toilet paper left for the Library. A short while later I found out from our Reference Page that her school hasn’t had any soap for nearly two weeks…

[blink]

All I know is that it’s going to get messy quickly unless somebody calls the Mayor and gets him to release some contingency funds… In the mean time, I’m going commando!

~ by Woeful on May 12, 2009.

5 Responses to “Things Are Tough All Over”

  1. It’s like that Seinfeld episode. “I don’t have a square to spare.”

  2. Sounds like the Library needs it’s own CostCo membership.

  3. We use “petty Cash” or sometimes my own personal cash to but soap & t.p. for the staff…sometimes the public too.

  4. When people ask we’ve been giving them the Mayor’s phone number…

  5. When the TP runs out, you’ll have a new use for discarded newspapers!

Leave a Reply

 
