Where I Dunno?

I was sitting at the Reference Desk the other day as these two guys approached. One was 60ish and wore a Patriot’s cap and dark sunglasses. The guy was craning his neck looking over me, at something behind me. I take a guess that this guy is trying to read the time on the clock on the wall behind me and sure enough as I’m about to ask if that’s what he’s after he says, “What time is it?” So I replied, “It’s five of four.”

Guy: “What?”

Me: “Five minutes to four.”

Guy [all the while still looking past me]: “Huh? Is that clock accurate?”

Me [taking out my cell phone]: “It’s 3:56.”

Guy: “What time is it?”

Me: “It’s almost 4:00!”

I look at the other guy who is watching this unfold and he just shrugs.

Guy: “4:00! Where have I been!!?”

Me: “I couldn’t tell you.”

I look back at the other guy and he’s shaking his head. At this point the guy with the cap walks away. I thought the two guys came together because they walked up to the Desk at the same time. As it turns out they were not together. In a thick Russian accent the younger guy asked me for an Internet reservation. No problem! I was thankful for something straighforward for a change.

~ by Woeful on March 27, 2009.

7 Responses to “Where I Dunno?”

  1. >Guy: “4:00! Where have I been!!?”

    Maybe a Who concert, since you seem deaf.

  2. Exactly! The band Loudness or some such shit. LOL… I couldn’t tell if he was drunk or high or just blind and deaf. Either way, it would have probably helped if he took his shades off.

  3. Don’t you know he probably wears his sunglasses at night? Sorry, could not resist. But the “where have I been” is simply priceless. For all you know he could have been drunk AND high AND blind AND deaf. Hey, stranger things have happened.

  4. LMAO! He exclaimed it loudly in shocked disbelief and then looked at me as if it wasn’t rhetorical. Actually the funniest thing about the entire experience was the subliminal connection I made with the Russian guy. We were glancing back and forth between sunglasses and each other and taking turns shrugging our shoulders… Too funny.

  5. To be fair, though, I wouldn’t have any idea what was going on either, if you said “It’s five of four.”

  6. Maybe it’s a regional thing? That’s how my peeps roll!

  7. It must be regional. I’ve only encountered things like that — “five of four,” “half twelve,” etc. — in text, rather than in real life. Although maybe I heard that while I was in England.

    Here we’d say “five after four”.

Leave a Reply

 
