Manners

People have reached a new level of rudeness as of late when it comes to cell phone etiquette. Each week I now get at least one person looking for information on something and mid-transaction their cell phone rings and they immediately walk away while talking to the person on the other end of the horn as if I don’t exist.

No Love.

~ by Woeful on September 23, 2008.

11 Responses to “Manners”

  1. I hate cell phone addicts. I am especially annoyed when one of them tries to call me out on my bad-policy-enforcing skills because while I am glad to shut down His Holiness on the Cell, I will not immediately jump to shutting up the occasional small child or loud talker.

  2. Cell phones are a bigger threat to Western Civilization than narcotics ever were. Same thing, if you think about it. I have a cell phone blocker that disrupts service. I use it guiltlessly on my commuting train practically every night.

  3. Hey, at least they didn’t stand in front of you and pretend you didn’t exist. I’ve had that before at the circ desk. I try to tell them they need to take the phone outside and they ignore me. One woman who had a book out so late she owed almost the max in fines (and keep in mind this was a children’s biography on Mick Jagger, all of 90 pages long, and she was reading it) – stand in front of me, talking to her friend, saying how much she hated libraries. When I said the phone needed to be used outside she smiled and said “Too bad, I’m not turning off my fucking phone.”

    So see, them walking away isn’t that bad in the grand sceme(spelling?) of things.

  4. We have a policy that states cell phone use is permitted as long as it’s quiet and as brief as possible, and not near either the Circ. or Ref. Desks. because of the cross-talk chaos that inevitable ensues.

    … Even a “fuck you” shows more respect that treating you like you don’t exist mid-transaction. And at that point you can have her thrown out and/or banned from the library so it’s a win-win. Instead I’m left sitting there all alone with my cock in one hand and a call number in the other…. Like someone’s personal servant working on a problem for a master who can’t really be bothered with it while s/he goes off and converses with friends about more important things.

  5. So tired of people who ask you a question as they yap on their phone, then you have to proceed to try to “talk around” their phone conversation.
    The worst was when I had two ditzy college girls who asked me for help finding books for a class assignment, then refused to listen to my suggestions because they were too busy looking at pics of “cute guys from that party last night” on their cells.

  6. Don’t know what’s worse: patrons with loud cells or library employees. When I used to tell non-librarians to take their cells elsewhere, I just loved that indignant look they got when they said: “But I’m WORKING!!”, like I was not. Dumbasses! Perhaps you should invest in a cell phone zapper…

  7. Unfortunately the cell phone zappers are illegal, with a fine (for first offense) as high as $11,000. http://wireless.fcc.gov/services/index.htm?job=operations_2&id=cellular – plus I’d be interested to hear if cell phone jammers interfere with WiFi since that’s a radio technology too. It’s gotten so bad everywhere that even the Catholic churches in Mexico have been driven to using jammers during mass (where it is legal). Closer to home I’m seeing more and more signs in offices and businesses telling people to turn off their cell phones.
    Our library has lots of signs (which they ignore) about turning off cell phones. I won’t serve someone on a cell phone and if they are that aggressive I call for backup. Most of our Internet computers we can disable from a remote location as well, although I haven’t been forced to that measure yet. Comes to that I could turn off the WiFi if they were using their own hardware. 🙂 Although it would not be fair to the other users…

  8. I prefer passive measures. When I worked elsewhere and was in the planning process of a new building I actually suggested lining the thing with lead or a Faraday Cage or something similar… This went nowhere (probably because of the cost) but I think it was a great (and legal) idea… That and the wet bar for my office (and yes, I did actually suggest that too) that didn’t make it past the first stage.

  9. Hey you can come work at my library, a tipsy librarian could really connect with our drunk patrons!

    Your management probably figured it was cheaper and more effective for you to self-medicate with Prozac or Valium and harder for anyone to notice! A wet bar is just too obvious. Snicker.

    I’m waiting for someone to invent a “cone of silence” that you can turn on around yourself to keep out unwanted noise. Ala Star Trek.

  10. “Prozac… Painkillers” to quote Radiohead. Didn’t Get Smart have something like the cone of silence as well?

  11. […] style, there is Mr. Belligerent again, who had disappeared from view for a while, launching into Ms. Very Calm Librarian.  He doesn’t care that she is turning a deaf ear and only when he has lost all steam does he […]

Leave a Reply

 
