FAIL

Although Christopher Dodd and Russ Feingold introduced an amendment to strip immunity from the telecom companies, the Senate caved and approved the FISA Act with retroactive immunity. Obama voted for the amendment but it failed by a margin of 32 to 66 and ultimately voted for the Act “as is.”

This is a sad day for America. Those who are sworn to uphold the Constitution, and supposedly represent us just voted in favor of letting those who knowingly break the Fourth Amendment do so with impunity. Congratulations, the Constitution is now not worth the paper it’s printed on.

Well Done!

~ by Woeful on July 10, 2008.

13 Responses to “FAIL”

  1. sigh.

    This Congress will be harshly judged by history. And Obama with it.

  2. what i love about the current state of government is they love stripping all our rights except the one that let’s us buy copius amounts of firearms so we can commit senseless acts of violence, that’s okay, but we can’t have those poor telecom conglomerates held resposible for whatever little searches the fbi,cia,nsa feel like running cuz they got your picture off a streetcam at a rally that they didn’t like, the fact is these clowns in the house and senate work for big business and lobbyists and really don’t give a shit what the will of the people is, Big Brother knows what’s best for us we should just consume and be happy. egads.

  3. This is a very dark time for the Republic.

  4. I’m glad that Russ Feingold represents me.

  5. That’s a good thing. Dodd is an exceptional guy as well.

  6. This hurts my soul. I wish becoming an ex-pat wasn’t such an arduous process.

  7. Sad day for America does not even begin to describe it. The sad thing is not so much the morons in Congress. It’s the morons who keep electing those clowns in Congress, half of which half no idea what any of this means. I was talking to a friend yesterday, and I told her I was not happy about the FISA issue. She had no idea whatsoever what I was talking about, and even when I explained it to her and why it was important, she STILL pretty much did not get it and said, “oh, I don’t pay attention to politics very much.” By the way, she is not some dumbass redneck hick who votes on the basis of the three G’s (God, guns, and gays). This is a fairly educated woman. If the so-called educated and smart people don’t care, what can we expect from the rest of the dumbasses? Now THAT is sad.

  8. I’d love to live in Toronto Rachel… Or Sydney.

    The truly sad thing is that the terrorists have won, Angel. We have now fundamentally changed who are are as a People to “protect” us from them. The Fourth Amendment is an idea worth fighting for. Dying while defending the Bill of Rights would be an honorable death… What we’ve done is an abomination.

  9. “I’m glad that Russ Feingold represents me.”
    “Dodd is an exceptional guy as well.”

    Agreed, both of them are good. One of my senators, Dick Durbin, is great, too. Obama I’m not so happy with these days.

  10. EPIC FAIL.

  11. Yep.

  12. So….who are you going to vote for??

    ^_^

  13. Hi Michelle: For the first time in my life, I thought that I was past voting for the lesser of two evils… Sadly it doesn’t look that way. That said, I still intend to vote for Obama even if only for his healthcare plan…

Leave a Reply

 
