PTSD

Yesterday is a day I prefer not to think about at all. At the moment we are seriously understaffed, and its also been horrendously busy. This provides for a lethal combination of rapid fire questions and one-on-one instruction. It took me until this morning to recover enough just to write about it.

During one of the few breaks I had, this guy I never saw before wandered past my desk. I said, “Hello” and asked him if he needed help. I figured he was from Public Works, or was a contractor. As it turns out he was a lost patron. He asked me how he could get back to the “Library.” I asked him how he got into a staff only area, and he indicated that he came from the Children’s Department… I showed him the way back.

It’s disconcerting to know that this random patron was wandering around the staff only areas. I wonder how long he was in there? Since almost everyone was out of Technical Services he could have been there a while and could have gotten into all kinds of stuff he shouldn’t be able to access including the servers.

I get a headache just thinking about it.

~ by Woeful on May 13, 2008.

12 Responses to “PTSD”

  1. Oh goodness. Really..How do these people get themselves into these messes.

  2. By the looks of him, I’d say that he was a couple of sandwiches short of a picnic.

  3. My favorite is when you see someone walking towards a staff only area and you ask them if they’re looking for someone or need help and they get all shifty. It’s like you caught them at something. I’ve actually made a couple of grown men jump doing this.

  4. Hi Rachel! It’s disconcerting because on the way to my desk, I heard the guy walking (err, dragging his feet) behind me but I paid it no mind because I thought it was someone on staff…

  5. Don’t worry, it’s all part of library life. Our admin area is six floors down from the public library with four floors of shops in between. There’s not a month goes by without some baffled little old lady wandering round trying to find the crockery department of T.J.Hughes.

  6. Scary isn’t it Kevin…

  7. I feel your pain. Being on a bare bones staff, ridiculously busy, planning a reading program for 800+ kids and patrons messing with my shit. I’m right there with you, Woe. Right there.

    I keep telling myself tomorrow will be better. I’m not all too sure it’s very probable, but I hold on to that hope so that I can hold on to my sanity.

  8. We won’t be understaffed forever, though it might feel that way.

  9. I caught a guy wondering in our staff area but the funny thing is he’d walked by a whole room of clerks who didn’t do anything. And he was obviously mentally disturbed/disheveled… amazing. I gave them all a bunch of grief for a while…..

  10. sorry. that should have been “wandering” although he was also probably wondering while he wandered…. as a spelling nazi i feel obligated to correct myself mercilessly….

  11. “obviously mentally disturbed/disheveled” sums up half of our staff.

  12. That reminds me of a time this random gentleman walked through the door clearly labeled STAFF ONLY into our circulation workroom. I was like, “Can I help you?!” and he was like, “The ladies at the desk were busy!” …WTF? Who DOES that?!?! LOL

Leave a Reply

 
