Battlestar Galactica

Battlestar Galactica is currently my favorite show on television. In anticipation of the commencement of Season 4 on Friday April 4th I just finished watching Season 3 on DVD (what took Universal so long to release these anyway?). As a fan of the original series I was skeptical of the changes that they were making but they really did an excellent job with the remake. Casting Edward James Olmos as Adama was great, and casting Katee Sackhoff as “Starbuck” was brilliant. I really didn’t think that recasting Dirk Benedict’s character as a woman would work… I am glad to write that I was wrong. It was a bold move that really paid off!

Here’s a list of my favorite episodes:

“33”

“Tigh Me Up Tigh Me Down”

“Valley of Darkness”

“Pegasus”

“Scar”

“Unfinished Business”

“Maelstrom”

Many guys are more than ready to surrender to the Cylon know as Number Six played by Tricia Helfer, and a few are even smitten by “Boomer”/”Athena” played by Grace Park (a touch of the Asian plague perhaps?), I for one am all about Kara “Starbuck” Thrace. From early on in Season 1 when I mentioned this to my friends the extent of their reactions was, “kinda’ butch isn’t she?”

Katee
… What she is, is a little more than a little sexy.
~ by Woeful on March 30, 2008.

13 Responses to “Battlestar Galactica”

  1. I haven’t seen the series but that chick is seriously hot

  2. Have you seen Razor? Something pretty major is possibly revealed at the end. I won’t be able to watch 4 until it’s on DVD or stumble across it on the internet.

  3. Rich told me that the immortals from highlander could kick everybody on battlestar galactica ass because there can be only one lame sci-fi show!

  4. Hi Nursemyra: Kara Thrace is amazingly hot! And she has this very sexy carefree attitude as well…

    Hello Vampire! I did see “Razor.” It’s a great companion to “Pegasus.” Pegasus BTW is really a three-part episode but the other two are called “Resurrection Ship.” I hate spoilers so I won’t give anything away except to say that Season 3 ends in a way that just confused the hell out of me. I’m really looking forward to Season 4 for some clarification.

    LOL… That may be so Dave, but I haven’t seen any immortal as sexy as Katee Sackhoff.

  5. Starbuck is ok…not really my type, but…I’m weird. Six does nothing for me – thereby indicating just HOW weird I am. lol.

    We just found out yesterday the next BSG season is starting on Friday – cool. We (me and my wife) haven’t seen Razor, but BSG is one of the few series we actually watch regularly. Dr. Who we generally see when our friends buy it on DVD – we’re woefully behind on Torchwood…not much else.

  6. I definitely prefer Kara to the glamazon. Superior taste, Woeful.

    One of my male co-workers is ob-fucking-sessed with this show. I’ve never watched it, but I get trapped in conversations with him about it all the time. Maybe I should give it a shot. If you like it, it MUST be cool, right?

  7. Arkham, thanks for commenting! Razor gives a lot of back story, it’s worth seeing.

    Hi K! Sackhoff is really nice looking. Like a fine scotch, she has many different layers of complexity and each is a beautiful thing. On top of that, the character she plays has a lot of spirit. BSG is definitely worth seeing. I know a lot of non science fiction people who love it because it’s such a complex character driven drama. It has everything, great writing, casting, and amazingly cinematic special effects for a serial. Overall it’s very film-like from the acting to the FX.

    The writing has taken the show to levels rarely seen in a serial (Aaron Sorkin notwithstanding). BSG deals with complex issues in human nature, ethics, morality, selfishness, and responsibility… Not to mention genocide, terrorism, religion, and the basic principles of civilization itself. It’s really is an amazing television show.

    Max, do you know anyone writing for BSG? They are truly talented people!

  8. OK. You’ve convinced me. I promise to rent the first season later on this week.

    I love that you compared her to a fine scotch. It shows me how much you truly adore her. Your adoration of scotch has been well documented on this site…

  9. You got that right, I wouldn’t just compare anyone to an exquisite single malt! You’ve got to watch the mini series first for the back story, the first episode of the series is “33” that I mentioned in my post.

  10. The miniseries? Do you think they’ll have that at the video store?

    OH, by the way…did you see that THL had a few new posts up on her blog?

  11. Yeah, they should have the miniseries. And yes, I did see that THL has posted. Sadly she’s no longer accepting comments…

  12. That does suck about the comment thing, but at least she’s writing. And her new myspace photo is HOT.

    Just sayin’.

    Sorry for all the comments! I’m crazy bored at the moment.

  13. Pretty much! 😉

Leave a Reply

 
