Got Hope?

Obama’08

***

Barack Obama has now won eleven primaries in a row, and secured the endorsement of The Teamsters (among others), but there’s still a long way to go. Both Clinton and McCain have stepped up their criticism that Obama is all talk and no substance. The reality of the facts, however, are very different. I was going to hold off on posting this until the next round of primaries was upon us, but there really is no better time than the present to let reality sink in.

The fact is, I would be supporting Hillary if she were running against anyone else, but, Barack Obama is not anyone else. He is in no way your typical political candidate. Both he and Clinton have solid legislative records. If you read what I link to above you will see that Obama’s is more diverse in scope. He thinks outside the box and that’s refreshing. Furthermore, he gives us an opportunity to make a clean break with the past and begin implementing our future, a future he wants us to actively participate in, not sit idly by while edicts are made. I should also note that until last week, I thought that McCain was largely an honorable man. But when he sold his soul by voting to make torture the official policy of the United States government what little respect I had for this Keating Five member was lost to the ether.

Despite strenuous claims to the contrary, Obama has well thought out plans to support his rhetoric. He is not merely a dynamic public speaker as those who oppose him would lead you to believe. Obama’s The Blueprint For Change outlines his plan to revolutionize, among other things, our healthcare system, and our economy.

I believe so strongly that Obama is our best hope to unite both Republicans and Democrats, and to restore America’s standing in the Global Village, that for the first time ever I donated my own hard-earned money to a political candidate. This is a once in a lifetime opportunity to affect real change in our political system. Amazingly, he has come this far without the support of the special interests, and the wealthy (donating $2,300 ea.) who have lined up behind both Clinton and McCain. Obama has come this far by taking $20 here, and $50 there from people like you and me. This demonstrates tremendous strength of character and dedication to principles that we desperately need in a leader right now!

Subsequently, I urge all of my readers to vote for Barack Obama in the upcoming primaries. Yes, we can make this happen. We have the power. Now let’s finally put this thing over the top on March 4th so that the superdelegates don’t get the chance to vote against the wishes of the people they supposedly represent. In case anyone missed that day in class, we’ve got another situation brewing here where the popular vote might get rejected by a technicality… This wouldn’t be very democratic… Again.

When I am this party’s nominee, my opponent will not be able to say that I voted for the war in Iraq; or that I gave George Bush the benefit of the doubt on Iran; or that I supported Bush-Cheney policies of not talking to leaders that we don’t like. And he will not be able to say that I wavered on something as fundamental as whether or not it is ok for America to torture — because it is never ok… I will end the war in Iraq… I will close Guantanamo. I will restore habeas corpus. I will finish the fight against Al Qaeda. And I will lead the world to combat the common threats of the 21st century: nuclear weapons and terrorism; climate change and poverty; genocide and disease. And I will send once more a message to those yearning faces beyond our shores that says, “You matter to us. Your future is our future. And our moment is now.

— Barack Obama, Des Moines, Iowa, November 10, 2007


Be a Part Of The Revolution: Vote For Change!

***

~ by Woeful on February 21, 2008.

21 Responses to “Got Hope?”

  1. […] Read my blog post, “Got Hope?“ […]

  2. Well written, my man. I also had never donated to a political candidate until Obama. And now I have twice, and will likely again. The Kos article is a must-read for anyone doubting Obama’s readiness to be President “on day one.” (bleh.)

  3. I got to cast my vote on Tuesday, and Wisconsin went to Obama! Woo! I spent my morning at the reference desk answering voter questions about where to vote, what’s needed to register, and when the polls close. It was really great to see so much interest for a primary. And almost everyone I helped reminded me to go vote too. 🙂

  4. Excellent post. I, too, am for Obama. Clearly it’s time for change and he offers us that opportunity along with renewing hope that we can turn a few wrongs back into rights.

  5. And what the fuck does this have to do with freaks at the fucking Library PS Fuck Obama & his Mama!

  6. Thanks Kables. Obama was ready to be President yesterday!

    Thank you too PL, as well as all the other Wisconsin voters.

    Hi Dailytri! One of the many things I like about Obama is that he intends to immediately (day one?) have his counsel go over all the pieces of the Constitution that Bush has weakened, or just pain ignored and fix each and every one.

    Silly Dave, Obama will even help you. He’s good for everyone! 🙂

  7. I attended a pre-debate rally yesterday, we marched down to the UT rec center, had a shouting match with the Hillary supporters, even had one of our high school bands leading the way. There were even a few Ron Paul people there. Went back to Scholz Garten for the debate watching party. I haven’t looked at my photos yet, hopefully they came out (none of Obama, though, just the fun weirdness of the supporters). It was fun. I think I will go to the rally to hear Obama speak tonight (even tho I have to get up at 4am for work!). I’ve never been involved in a campaign like this before. I voted this morning in the early election, and in Texas, we can vote twice–once in the primary, and once in the caucus. They call it the Texas Two-Step. 🙂 Great post!!

  8. Way to go Lemurtx, and thanks!

  9. I am a huge Obama fan and A Hillary fan too. My life is ruled by health care issue and Hillary is just a better personal choice but I’d love to see Obama win for all the reasons you mention in your post.

  10. Hi! The thing I don’t like about Hillary’s plan is that it makes healthcare mandatory. This would make people who can’t afford to pay for insurance criminals. This isn’t cool. One other thing, the evil healthcare companies are the ones who stand to reap the biggest benefits from requiring that everyone have insurance. This isn’t cool either…

  11. When I listen to Obama or Hillary, I always hear the same things. I really do have to dig around to try to find out what the deal is. Thanks for the link on Healcare companies. I know they deny my son coverage and it’s hateful. Also, my son was perscribed vitamin D drops for his bones. Because of a patent a drug company wanted 150.00 for lesser quality than the 5.oo kind in the health food store! I learned that on a docs blog!

  12. Of course you have to do what’s best for your child. I’m in a position where I’m relatively young and healthy, and already have decent insurance, so my choice is more about what I think is best for the people who are much less fortunate than I.

  13. I would be happy with Barack or Hillary and in four more years my son will be 18 and my financial life will not keep him from getting INS from the Government. Light at the end of the tunnel for us! ( Zach might get better too!) A law has changed and I am now allowed to go to school on loans as long as I “don’t keep or make interest on the money” That is a break for me and Zach. I do sincerely appreciate your posts on politics and other important issues.

  14. Wow are you gracious.
    I’ve been sort of light and fluffy with my Obama stuff for fear that the Political Activist in me will open up and get hunted down across cyber-space by some angry angry people.
    All kidding aside, I’ve enjoyed your post.
    Anita Marie

  15. Hi Anita: Thanks! You gotta’ be able to express what you want on your own blog or life just isn’t worth living.

  16. Gracious? IS that in reference to your replies to me? WOW! I never meant to challenge your views on your blog. I felt in conversation tone I was explaining my political ignorance and describing that the Insurance companies and the government have my head on the slab for health care. I learned ( here ) that Hillary’s health care program Might not be our ( mine, Zach’s, America’s) saving grace as I had thought/hoped. I’d love to see Obama win as I am a fan as well as a huge Woeful fan. My Sincere Apologies Woe! I don’t have a stong political mind and seriously came here, a trusted place, for enlightenment and perhaps a sort of discussion. Oh frick ! Was that about me or DynaDave? My blog comment thing, left that one out. I’m an ass……

  17. I think it’s important to remember that the candidates have good plans but still need a way to finance them, and with the mess that Bush is leaving it’s going to be a real challenge for them to do everything the want to do… What I’m getting at is prepare to be somewhat disappointed no matter how it works out, and remember this won’t be their doing it will be the lingering presence of our current dumbass in chief’s reckless agenda.

    … To paraphrase Obama from the last debate, it isn’t easy driving the bus out of the ditch.

  18. I have a feeling that this will be something you’ll have to repost about in a couple of years! What a ditch we are in!

    PS
    My Twitter BookClubClass has been picked for the Oprah/Tolle web event and I’ll be listed on her website. Cool! I am so glad you’ve signed up!

  19. Cool, thanks!

  20. I’m from Illinois and can attest to the fact that Obama has never accomplished anything. He has voted present (neither yes or no) on anything that would show his colors and hasn’t ever been in charge of anything.
    I suppose that would qualify him for the public library vote — sounds good, but nothing accomplished.

  21. Hi Anon: Even in a State that overwhelmingly voted for Obama there are bound to be nay sayers. I’m not from Illinois, I’m from Hillary country, but accoroding to The Washington Post Obama seems to have done some very respectable work while working for the betterment of the good people of Illinois.

Leave a Reply

 
