Guerrilla Marketing Targets Libraries

Splendid.

After reading this post over at R.A. Swigert: Stacking the Odds, I have visions of finding business cards in every book we own.

Angels & Ministers of Grace Defend Us!

~ by Woeful on January 11, 2008.

15 Responses to “Guerrilla Marketing Targets Libraries”

  1. I’ve run across this before. Color me annoyed.

  2. From a marketing perspective, it’s brilliant. From a Library perspective, it’s against policy (soliciting), and eventually, would no doubt cause a mess (misshelving, cards falling like confetti, etc…).

  3. We usually have religious groups stuffing our books full of little cards and pamphlets. Remember, I’m from Iowa…a good chunk of the population belongs to the religious right–and they’re not afraid of pushing their beliefs on anybody.

    You’re totally jealous of me now, aren’t you?

  4. Gagh… Do you find a lot of your items regarding subjects like abortion, or sexuality “missing?” I bet you do.

  5. Yes we do. And books that have homosexual relationships in them. We had this amazing compilation of prose written by gay/lesbian teens in our YA collection that has gone missing like five times. Every time we reorder it, it disappears within a couple of weeks.

    The other day, a mother came up and complained about a “filthy” book that was in our juvenile non-fiction. The book depicted sexual organs, masturbation, intercourse, etc with cartoon illustrations and easy to grasp text. She was pissed that her 11 year old daughter checked it out. She demanded and apology from us and also that we remove the item from the shelves.

    That’s Iowa for you…

  6. The thing I don’t get is, what are these people afraid is going to happen to their kids if they see some sex education books? I mean, in Europe they have a lot of nudity right on their broadcast TV networks, and in commercials… And, they seem to be much more well adjusted that we are.

  7. I totally agree. Some parents seem to think ignorance is the best way to keep their children safe, when in fact it puts them more at risk. But they let their children watch/read about as much gratuitous violence as they desire. To me, that’s pretty screwed up.

  8. I’d heard of “glamour bombers” aka poetic terrorists putting bookmarks with neat sayings in library books on purpose, but not business cards. It doesn’t phase me to find crap in books anymore though. The most recent thing was a newspaper clipping of Tolkein’s obituary… didn’t he die in the 70’s? I’d have kept it but it was falling apart. 😦

  9. Oh, along the same lines, I totally hate when my patrons give me their business cards. Doctors, lawyers, travel agents, a guy who does taxes… *rolls eyes* The only time I didn’t mind is because it was a dude who I talked about landscaping with and he gave me his landscaper card because I had EXPRESSED INTEREST. But the rest? “Here, have my card, you might need it someday!” The garbage needed it more than me, haha.

  10. We used to have a problem with people putting those Babtist “the earth is only 10,000 years old” pamphlets in our childrens books about dinosaurs. So annoying.

  11. Hi Cara: I certainly think we’re better off without any of those “gifts.”

    Thanks for commenting Hip Shhusher: So true!

  12. I have a major problem with people carving or magic markering their website addresses on the bathroom stalls at my restaurant. At least you could use the business card as a book mark 🙂

  13. We had a lady very nonchalantly leave a few business cards on the patron side of our circ desk every time she would check out. It was funny watching her wait until she thought I wasn’t looking. A sneaky one, she was not. I would just wait until she left to throw the cards out.

  14. The other day, a mother came up and complained about a “filthy” book that was in our juvenile non-fiction. The book depicted sexual organs, masturbation, intercourse, etc with cartoon

    A co-worker once complained about watching a sitcom with her teenage daughter, and having the subject of masturbation come up– she commented she didn’t want her daughter to know about it. Then, within the year, her daughter ended up pregnant. :/

    Oh, along the same lines, I totally hate when my patrons give me their business cards. Doctors, lawyers, travel agents, a guy who does taxes… *rolls eyes*

    Ha! Take them and drop them into the Ameriprise “free lunch” bowls at local restaurants! (Thankfully, they’ve stopped calling me). :/

  15. Nice!

Leave a Reply

 
