David Lynch Ruminates on the iPhone

.
Sadly, the sanctity of art is gone. We watch movies on tiny screens (sometimes reformatted to fit the screen, and/or colorized), listen to disparate mixes of poor quality MP3s (an album should be an experience, from the cover to the sequence of tracks), listen to abridged audiobooks, and multi-task every chance we get so that we no longer have immersive experiences in anything. We all need a good strong dose of Adderall for the ADHD we’ve developed as a culture.
~ by Woeful on January 5, 2008.

10 Responses to “David Lynch Ruminates on the iPhone”

  1. Since Christmas, I’ve been converting all my dvds to 320 X 240 to fit on my player, and I like the tiny screen better because I feel like a Giant. A GIANT!

  2. LMAO!! I’m an effing giant, and I’m not going to take it anymore!

    In all seriousness though, I understand the utility of the device, it’s nice to be portable. I just hope that people don’t begin using these things as their preferred viewing method. This would be a sad situation for motion pictures… Even HDTV is a poor substitute, although the wider screen is really nice!

    As an aside, in honor of my visit yesterday from W.C. Fields, I just finished watching “The Bank Dick.” Great flick!

  3. I love this even though….I am so into the small screen, I mean it works better than giving my kid cough syrup! he he

  4. I don’t have any problems with TV, even on a small screen. Better than cough syrup… LOL. I was raised on TV and seem to be a fairly well adjusted individual. I think the problem with kids isn’t so much exposure to TV, or the Internet so much as with the parenting involved before, during, and after a kid’s exposure to the medium.

  5. I certainly wouldn’t want to carry a 52 inch cell phone on my back so I can be mobile. So I will stick with my iPhone. Entertainment, phone, computer, all in one. Can’t beat that. Actually, I’m surprised libraries even exist these days with all the information handed to us on a mini computer. 🙂

  6. Hi Again UW! The problem with that, is it’s like carrying a photocopy of the Mona Lisa and saying , “COME SEE, I’VE GOT A DA VINCI!” And because the media tells you that you have a Da Vinci, it must be so right? If you’re stuck in an airport this might be passable just so you don’t go postal, otherwise not so much… It really depends on how low our standards are.

    Libraries exist (among other things) to provide accurate information. The Internet doesn’t necessarily provide accurate information. The information acquired online often isn’t sourced, or might be edited by drunken monkeys (i.e., Wikipedia), or worse. Librarians weed out the chaff and skim the cream from an ocean of bile.

  7. […] This cartoon was virtually inspired by @ the library. We are both fans of David Lynch. […]

  8. Thanks Jeremy!

  9. I know this interview has been taken out of context and thus may not represent precisely what Lynch believes, but doesn’t it seem like he’s being a wee bit preachy? I mean, he’s into experimental cinema. What if a film – hell even a web cartoon – was designed specifically to be viewed on an iPhone? It’s sort of reductive to say bigger is better when it comes to the talkies. (Although I’m biased against hand-held video games, so that makes me a hypocrite.)

    Plus, authorial intent goes out the window after a work of art is exhibited. Just because a director intended a film to be viewed a certain way doesn’t mean other iterations or ways to experience the work of art are without value. For example, the colorized/music-added version of Lang’s sci-fi classic Metropolis has many redeeming features. Art is dynamic and interactive; change is not necessarily bastardization.

    Further reading (at Slate; I know, I’m a loser):
    David Lynch’s love for digital video. (Interesting foil to iPhone comments.)
    Fred Kaplan talks about why digital audio sucks, and why people settle for it.

  10. I’m a purist man. I don’t even like to reEQ my music. As a former photographer, I love B&W and think that colorizing it is a travesty in itself. I mean, no sane individual (although possibly many of our patrons) would paint over the Mona Lisa with pastels to make it look “snappier”… Experimental cinema is fine, just be true to the original format. If it’s made to be watched on a wristwatch, then I’ll be glad to watch it on a wristwatch.

    Art is created to be experienced in a certain way by its author. Therefore, I think that in order for an “altered” work to have real value it has to be transformative, not derivative… Warhol’s prints are a good example of this. Otherwise, I think it’s just posing.

Leave a Reply

 
