Life, Death & Music

Happy Halloween Everybody!

I’ve been incredibly busy at work lately dealing with technological chaos. This has stabilized for the time being, but is far from being fixed for good. This is a pain in the balls! At home, I have been extremely busy ripping and organizing music in iTunes. This is a sad byproduct of the hard drive crash I experienced a few months back.

This is a pain in the balls too, but it’s done and my music is more organized than ever… A good thing if you’re into Smart Playlists! The coolest thing about the tagging options in iTunes is the “Grouping” field. This is supposed to be for grouping movements of classical pieces, however, iTunes allows any free text to be input so its great for making either searchable sub-genres, or super genres. I use it for the latter. For example, it’s a good way to categorize songs on soundtracks, where the genre is “Soundtrack” but the songs are… Whatever they are. So when I want, say, blues songs that aren’t categorized in the Blues genre, but are categorized into the Rock or Soundtrack genres I can group those tracks with other blues tunes – Sweet! Anyway, this shouldn’t happen again as I now have all my (lossless) music files backed-up on an external hard drive.

But that’s not what this post is about. This post is about bizarre “perks” that are occasionally offered to me/public servants. A few years back, when I was working for another municipality, I opened my paycheck and contained therein, along with my pittance of a salary, was a letter (to all Town employees) congratulating me that at my level of income I qualified for low income housing, and the new homes being built were being offered to me before anyone else.

[blink] Thanks.

Today, I discovered that a local funeral parlor is offering free funerals for any City employees who die while on the job… Let’s hope I don’t need that service anytime soon.

~ by Woeful on October 31, 2007.

6 Responses to “Life, Death & Music”

  1. […] Check it out! While looking through the blogosphere we stumbled on an interesting post today.Here’s a quick excerptThis is a pain in the balls too, but it’s done and my music is more organized than ever… A good thing if you’re into Smart Playlists! The coolest thing about the tagging options in iTunes is the “Grouping” field. … […]

  2. Free funerals? That’s a nice sentiment and all, but, really, if it’s me, do I care how much the funeral costs? Honestly, at that point, I’m just a tad more interested in whether there is an afterlife, if I’m headed up or down, and if all the deities from all the religions are actually the same God. That’s kinda more along the lines of what’s on my mind if I’m dead … and since I’m a librarian, I’m likely to be categorizing the various beings I encounter along the way into subgroups such as angels, celestials, guardians, etc.

    Free funerals? Give me a break. How about giving us public employees a break on a service that is actually relevant to our own personal finances, such as free parking? Right now, our library does not own the parking lot, the city does, so guess what? Flat-rate parking, every day.

    Worst. Cash-grab. Ever.

  3. Man, I wish I had found this shirt before Halloween. You could have dressed as a library book. Yes, I know the shirt is implying something else…but it works so well!
    http://www.threadless.com/product/1020/November_Was_A_Good_Month

  4. Hi G… Paying for parking rots! The cops here don’t even care that we have City parking stickers, they ticket our asses right in the library lot if we’re in 2 hr. parking because there aren’t any staff spaces available. Grrrr.

    Hello RadRac: Nice T-Shirt… It’s my mission as a librarians to do away with the need for rubber stamps and ink. I want to see them gone before I retire.

  5. Okay, only a librarian would be excited he can create sub genres for music groupings on iTunes. Next you will figure out a way to dewey decimal them right?

  6. LOL… Cataloging isn’t my schtick, but I do like to have things organized!

Leave a Reply

 
