Quirky

A man walked up to the Reference Desk today, and asked my colleague if his Inter Library Loan (ILL) on podiatry had arrived? She asked him for his name so she could check, and he matter-of-factly replied, “Achilles.” Much laughter ensued, especially after we discovered that he wasn’t being facetious, his name really is Achilles.

… With a smile on his face, Mr. Achilles proudly walked away with his book on podiatry.

~ by Woeful on October 2, 2007.

15 Responses to “Quirky”

  1. Another one to store in the “you can’t make this stuff up” file.

  2. You’re not kidding.

  3. I love moments like that.

  4. HA!

  5. Fear not fair citizens, Achilles the super podiatrist is on the way! I wonder if he comes from a family into feet or he just changed his name when he got into podiatry.

  6. Atleast his first name wasn’t Achilles, last name Tendon…

  7. Hi Lorie! I lamented to my coworker that his name wasn’t “Bunion.”

  8. lmao – oh, that’s great!

    And I guess if you would have accused him of lying you’d have ended up sticking a foot in your mouth!

  9. Hey! Why am I under moderation?

    Hope somewhere along the line I didn’t stick a foot in my mouth!

  10. Dude. I always thought the OED needs a picture under the definition of irony. This would’ve been perfect!

  11. LMAO… Don’t worry Stiletto! The moderation is actually more for my friends than anyone else. I’m afraid one of them will comment and accidentally refer to me by my real name… It’s just a safety valve.

  12. Oh no! Is this all because of my post?

  13. No, I had the thought the other day that if somebody slips up I’m screwed.

  14. I figured out what happened. I wrote a draft without publishing it and my full name was in it along with the convo bits from the IM I cut and pasted…and somehow Google picked it up!

    I thought stuff in draft form was private. Guess not! So be careful with stuff you’re working on even when it’s in draft form!

  15. That sucks! I had no idea. It “should” be private… Doh!

Leave a Reply

 
