Is He In?

Today, while at the Reference Desk, I received a telephone call. The caller asked, “Is the Terminal Man in the Library?” I responded, “I don’t know, what does he look like?”

~ by Woeful on August 3, 2007.

6 Responses to “Is He In?”

  1. I once took a phone reference that started out, “Is Josey Wales in?” It took me a few seconds to realize they wanted the movie The Outlaw Josey Wales.

  2. Hiya Manda! Thanks for stopping by. The guy/teen on the phone didn’t know how to respond to my response. So there was silence, followed by a, “What?” Then laughter… I then asked if he was looking for a book.

    Just before this guy called, a woman approached the Desk, and without salutation said something like, Guy Terner fathers of sons and uncles of wives. So, I search for the title “Fathers of Sons and Uncles of Wives” only to discover that “Fathers of Sons” is one book, and “Uncles of Wives” is another book by the same author. These aren’t the exact titles but they’re similar, nor is the author’s name Terner… I can’t remember the details, only that his first name is, “Guy.” but it does illustrate the onslaught of bad communication skills prevalent by most people.

    Patrons were in rare form yesterday. Everyone had some kind of attitude. Most of them had nasty demeanors. Some even swore at the staff. A woman actually said, “I don’t know what the hell he’s saying” to me about a coworker who was trying to help her.

    I think the extreme heat as of late has baked everyone’s brains.

  3. I might’ve said, “No, he’s been transferred to the intensive care unit. Are you a relative?”

  4. Welcome Sinauga! I almost wish that Virus Guy was in so I could have responded, “Indeed he is. Would you like to speak with him?” Although I wouldn’t want him using my phone… Maybe I could have transferred it to Circulation.

  5. I worked at a bookstore when Madonna’s book was out (years ago!). A young woman (a few years younger than me) came up and said “Do you have Sex?” I jokingly responded “That’s a personal question, isn’t it?” She just stared at me. No humor. [sigh]

  6. That’s beautiful, Lemurtx! 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
