Up Close & Dangerous

A colleague of mine took the hit today. While I was away tending to some behind the scenes technical garbage, he said that a woman walked up to him at the Reference Desk, leaned in close and barked, “Up close and dangerous.” He was startled as there was no salutation of any kind leading up to that. Then he said that she leaned in even closer, and with a gleam in her eye snapped, “Up close and dangerous!” once again.

Errr…

After what I can only imagine to be a disgusted, “Excuse me?” from my coworker, she explained that Up Close and Dangerous is a book she was looking for. My colleague was elated to hear this, for he needed no longer fear for his life. If she queried me that way, I would have been tempted to retort, “Far away, and safe.” I can only imagine the ensuing conversation:

Her: What?

Me: Your turn.

Her: [Stunned silence]

Me: The capital of Nebraska is Lincoln!

Her: I don’t understand?

Me: I thought we were doing a word association thing?

~ by Woeful on July 30, 2007.

12 Responses to “Up Close & Dangerous”

  1. What if she comes back for that Spencer Johnson book? 🙂

  2. hehehe, this is funny. I had no idea that librarians lead such a dangerous life.

  3. Welcome Jeremy! We librarians deal with a lot of unsavory characters, from the mentally ill to the highly contagious. Although it might sometimes be “dangerous,” most of the time it’s just annoying. Thanks for stopping by.

  4. Anytime! I’m now one of your happy subscribers.

  5. Thanks, I’ve added WTTF to my Bloglines too.

  6. i don’t understand why people think it’s okay to go up to the info desk and just bark out a title without saying, “could you please help me find…” or something introductory of sorts…sorry to hear that these kinds of characters exist! but they do make for good stories though.

  7. I so now have a new hobby. Also this sounds really useful for when strangers walk up to me and inform me cigarettes are bad for my health.

    “Up close and dangerous!”

  8. Coming from you, that phrase might actually turn people on 🙂

  9. LOL!

  10. 😉

  11. “I so now have a new hobby. Also this sounds really useful for when strangers walk up to me and inform me cigarettes are bad for my health.

    “Up close and dangerous!””

    I also wonder how many people tell Max she’s too pretty to be smoking. I remember taking a puff after class and some guy told me just that. The big fat girl next to me barked, “What! You gotta be ugly to die young?”

    heehee

  12. I never really smoked… Cigarettes.

Leave a Reply

 
