Newly Acquired

I wasn’t going to blog today, but word is out that two significant business acquisitions have just taken place: Google has now acquired FeedBurner. This is significant to me because I use FeedBurner to syndicate my blog’s content via both RSS feed and email. Subsequently, I sincerely hope that Google doesn’t force any ads on my content. We shall see…

When businesses grow to a certain point, I grow skeptical of them. For me, Google has already surpassed this point, much the same way that Microsoft did in the late 80’s. Don’t get me wrong, Google’s search engine is fantastic, as is Microsoft Office, only I don’t need either of these companies involved in every aspect of my life…

The other significant acquisition was Ebay’s purchase of StumbleUpon for $75 million. Since I’m a BIG fan and user of StumbleUpon, this also affects me. In fact, think it’s the best thing about the Internet since the advent of the Internet itself! Let’s hope they don’t drop the ball.

~ by Woeful on June 3, 2007.

2 Responses to “Newly Acquired”

  1. I know YouTube is starting to show up on Itunes and content deals are being made and a few selected You Tubers are getting paid…… it’s the kind of change that starts limiting the everyday user.

  2. I expect some of that kind of thing… After all it keeps the Internet “free.” I just don’t want it to get out of control.

Leave a Reply

 
