Social Skills

[telephone rings]

Me: Hello, your local public library!

Female Patron: “Are you the reference desk?”

Me: “I work at the reference desk. How may I help you?”

~ by Woeful on May 30, 2007.

9 Responses to “Social Skills”

  1. HA!

    I once said, “Sorry, there is no Bill here by that name” on the phone. We all make mistakes.

  2. Welcome Tommy!

    Yeah, I’ve been known to make a few every now and again myself 🙂 Actually, after calling a few dozen people about their ILLs, I tend to say, “This is the Library calling.” And dispense with the litany that actually makes sense! Plus, I really don’t want anybody knowing my name where I work if I can help it… If you know what I mean?

    … It’s just that I’ve never actually been called the Reference Desk before.

  3. Oh wow you are such a smart ass.

  4. Just doing my best to help people maximize their potential 🙂

  5. HAHA, if only desks could talk. Or wait, maybe that wouldn’t be such a good thing…

    We always get the calls from people who ask if we’re a recording. That one always gets me.

  6. Hi Cara.

    Haaaaaaa! Nobody’s asked me if I’m a recording yet.

  7. Oh that’s funny. Chuckling aloud…

  8. We have a patron who actually walks up to whoever is sitting at the desk that day and says brightly, “HELLO REFERENCE DESK!” Every…single..time…he comes in.

  9. I have a coworker who get that a lot too.

Leave a Reply

 
