What?

The telephone is ringing. It’s my misfortune to answer it:

Me: Hello, Torture-Me Public Library

Female patron: Hello?

Me: Hello!

Patron: I need to renew a book.

Me: What’s your library card barcode number?

Patron: What?

Me (louder): What’s your library card barcode number?

Patron: What? I’m sorry. I have a hearing aid.

Me (louder yet): WHAT – IS – YOUR – LIBRARY – CARD – BARCODE – NUMBER?

Patron (blaring-screeching feedback, very nearly melts the left side of my brain and face through the receiver): What? I’m sorry.

Me (I lament): What’s your name?

Patron: My name is…

I complete the transaction, thinking that although I might now have permanent hearing damage at least I have something to blog about.

~ by Woeful on March 21, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
